To Write Or Not To Write: That Is The Question

I am 24K words into my novel. Do I continue or just scrap it and restart?

Chrissie Massey
2 min readFeb 21, 2024
Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

I had this brilliant idea to write a novel a few years ago. I wanted to use my real-life experiences as the backbone of the story and fictionalize parts of my story. I still believe in this idea. However, I need help figuring out where to go with my story.

My story is about Cassie, a woman who has a problematic relationship with her mother after being raised by her grandma. She discovers a family secret that significantly impacts her life. Her mother becomes gravely ill, and she must make peace with her before she passes away.

This book has helped me process my feelings about my mother. If I never publish the story, it has helped me see her side a little more. I have more compassion for her now. However, it doesn’t change our history or relationship.

I am at the point in my story where Cassie must go see her mother in the ICU and say goodbye to her mother. I am not sure if I want my main character to unleash on her mother or just make peace with the situation.

--

--

Chrissie Massey

Spent my adult life writing online for many publications — both online & print. Now, I’m finding my voice, and sharing it with the world. she/her