Don’t Do This, Or I Will Not Read You

I do not like being told to read for 30 seconds. If you write well, I will read!

Chrissie Massey
2 min readFeb 21, 2024
Photo by Dev Asangbam on Unsplash

I don’t know if this is a new trend or not. This is the one thing that makes me quickly click out of an article. More often than not, I will not only click out but will click the “show less like this” button, too.

I noticed recently that many Medium peeps will state at the beginning of their article, “Please read for 30 seconds to help read ratio.”

I hate seeing this. I should not be responsible as a reader for YOUR read ratio. You should be writing content that makes me want to read. Write better, and the read ratio will increase.

Readers want to feel your emotions. They want raw and vulnerable material. They want you to put them in the moment. No one wants to read bland, boring content.

I cannot stress this enough; stop using this verbiage in your article. Give me a reason to stay on your story. Inspire me to highlight, clap, and comment on your piece.

I don’t hand out claps and comments to everyone. I read many people on Medium. I rarely comment. One of those reasons is the content here is not engaging.

I do not want to read your fake earning reports. No, you didn’t make $2K on Medium in seven…

--

--

Chrissie Massey

Spent my adult life writing online for many publications — both online & print. Now, I’m finding my voice, and sharing it with the world. she/her